Welcome to LogMeIn Support!
Reset Search
Search

Article

Avoiding scammers who abuse LogMeIn Rescue trial accounts

« Go Back

Information

 
Answer

Be aware that malicious third parties have been using Rescue trial accounts in attempt to gain wrongful access to customers’ computers.

LogMeIn Rescue is a remote support software solution used by tens of thousands of legitimate businesses, including 50 of the world’s top telecom companies.  But as with email scams, legitimate products are not immune to people with nefarious intent.
Use of this software or any of our products for nefarious or illegal purposes violates our terms and is immediate grounds for account termination.  To protect consumers, we have increased proactive and reactive approaches, ranging from changes to our product and trial process to investigating and taking action on reports of improper use.  However, we consider education equally important, so here are a few tips for consumers to avoid scammers:

What should you do to prevent abuse?
  • As a general rule, if you are the least bit suspicious, do not grant anyone remote access to your computer.
    A major safety and security feature of LogMeIn Rescue is that it requires mutual consent. No action can be taken by a support technician without the computer owner granting access.
  • If you are approached by a suspicious technician, capture and report – but do NOT enter – the six-digit PIN code they provide. Immediately send us this and any other related information: https://secure.logmeinrescue.com/ReportAbuse/Send.
    Please provide the following details:
    • In what way you were approached (email, phone call, etc.)
    • Exact date and time of the scam
    • The PIN code or link you were instructed to use
What should you do if you have already granted access to your computer?
For those who have already granted access to their computer, it is important to be aware that the computer owner has ultimate control over the support process.
  • If you have granted access to a suspicious technician, click the “kill switch” or press the Pause/Break button on your keyboard to immediately terminate an active support session.
      User-added image  User-added image
  • Among others, the following situations should be considered suspicious:
    • You did not request help, but somebody offers their help.
    • The technician wants you to download a suspicious file.
    • The technician wants to upload suspicious files to your computer.
    • The technician wants you to provide any sensitive data (credit card number, passwords, etc.).
  • Immediately notify us of the suspected scam sending all related information: https://secure.logmeinrescue.com/ReportAbuse/Send.
    Please provide the following details:
    • In what way you were approached (email, phone call, etc.)
    • Exact date and time of the scam
    • The PIN code or link you were instructed to use

 
ProductLogMeIn Rescue

Is this article helpful?

 

   



Feedback

Please tell us how we can make this article more useful.

Characters Remaining: 255

 

Close X