Technicians and channels are assigned to Technician Groups. By
default, each technician can work with sessions in any channel assigned to his
Technician Group. To deny an individual technician access to a channel, follow
On the Organization Tree, select the
technician that you want to remove from a
The Channels tab shows a list of channels assigned to the
On the Channels tab, clear the checkmark next to the
Assigned to… box for each restricted Channel.
The assignment is applied immediately
in the Administration Center. Any technician who is logged in to the Technician
Console must log off and log in again before the change is applied.
Example: Deny an individual technician access to a channel
This feature is useful if you use product- or platform-based channels
and have technicians who may not be ready to support certain products or
Assume that you have assigned the Windows channel and Mac channel to
Technician Group 1. All technicians in Technician Group 1 except for the
technician named “Sample Technician” have the skills to handle Mac issues. In
this case, you can remove “Sample Technician's” access to the Mac channel.
"Sample Technician" will see sessions arriving to the Windows channel, but not
the Mac channel. Once “Sample Technician” has the skills to handle Mac
sessions, you can re-assign him to the Mac channel.